Off the top of my head and with a dubious criterion…

Do lists like this, especially ones that are so short, tell us anything about ourselves?  To create these ones I set myself a single criteria:  For each category, I had to write the first five things that came into my mind.  No amendments, no deletions.  Try it! So here’s the result:

My 5 Favourite Live Albums of all time

The Last Waltz – the Band, Dylan et al

Running on Empty – Jackson Browne

Get Yer Ya Yas Out – The Rolling Stones

The Skiffle Sessions – Van Morrison, Kenny Lonnigan and Chris Barber

The Three Tenors (1990) – Pavarotti, Domingo and Carreras

My 5 Favourite Hit Songs of all Time

My Sweet Lord – George Harrison (Sure, it’s a copy of “He’s so Fine” but so much better)

Good Vibrations – The Beach Boys

Different Drum – Linda Ronstadt and the Stone Ponies

Taxi – Harry Chapin

Friday on My Mind – The Easybeats

My 5 Favourite Films of All Time

Lawrence of Arabia

A Room With a View

One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest

Death in Venice

Once Upon a Time in the West

My 5 Favourite Books of All Time

Catch 22 – Joseph Heller

David Copperfield – Charles Dickens

Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austin

The Brothers Karamazov – Dostoevsky

Vanity Fair – Thackeray

My 5 Favourite Albums of All Time

Exile On Main Street – The Rolling Stones

Blood on the Tracks – Bob Dylan

Revolver – The Beatles

The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust – David Bowie

Astral Weeks – Van Morrison

3 Comments

Filed under Books, Film, Music

3 responses to “Off the top of my head and with a dubious criterion…

  1. Capturing the first 5 that come to mind is a good plan. I would agonise otherwise, and not be able to settle, or necessarily even be sure that I was recalling all of my favourites. I would venture that you reveal quite a bit about your tastes, of nothing else, by putting these lists together. Of course, now I’ve started agonising, so I will give this a go soon, when I’ve STOPPED thinking about which ones I’d put on the lists…(in an attempt to contrive some spontaneity) 🙂

  2. that should be “if nothing else” – pardon me

  3. Well, you know, H&T, there’s a hell of lot of that contrived spontaneity around, isn’t there? A trap of our middle class middle life middleness? So concerned about the judgment of others that we cringe at the thought of a simple list of our favourite songs revealing, not too much about us, but something wrong with us…I did all my agonising after the event “Oh, Hell, what about Pink Floyd?” “Was Good Vibrations too trivial?” “Did the Threee Tenors sound pretentious?” Then I decided I was starting to sound like a Woody Allen character…

Leave a Reply

