Isn’t that called water?

icecube_50.gificecube_50.gificecube_50.gifIt’s a very hot day; I’m going to a barbecue at a friend’s place.  He has asked me to bring some ice to keep the drinks cold.  I pull into the drive-in liquor store.  

The young guy who works there saunters over to my car window.  He bends down. 

“What can I do for you, Mate?”

“Do you sell ice?” I ask.

“Yep,” he says.

“Well, I’ll have two bags of ice, please.”

 He looks at me, sweat brimming around his eyebgrows, “Sorry, Mate, we do have ice but it’s not frozen.”

5 Comments

Filed under australia, humour, life

5 responses to “Isn’t that called water?

  1. Kym

    Silent applause for his wit…but I’m sitting where it’s cool. I’m not sure I would be amused if I was broiling in the sun.

  2. It reminds me of the time I ordered an omlette at a ‘Little Chef’ diner and was told that they didn’t have any. “Do you have eggs ?” I asked. “Oh yes” said the waitress.

  3. max

    I never know in moments like that whether to be outraged or amused. I try to shoot for amused.

  4. You got of lightly Oscarandre an American would still have tried for a sale, based on the bags potential for ice making.

  5. lillipilli

    Like the time I was only prepared to pay half-price for the bags of half-thawed ice, that were all that was available on a Sydney scorcher.

Leave a Reply

