Tryst

Early this morning I opened the front door and threw the dregs of my coffee across the front lawn.  The air was still cold; darkness seemed to be hesitating before slipping off its cloak and scuttling towards the horizon.  A full moon sat staring at me low in the sky as if it too were just waiting to say goodbye.  I watched the still-warm coffee hit the grass and a little cloud of steam drift briefly above the ground.  Then I shut the door and went inside to ready myself for the day.  When I came out about half an hour later, the night and moon had gone.  A bird twittered somewhere in the bushes near the driveway.  The moon and the night were here, it seemed to say, but you missed them.  I could still feel their breath though.  Somehow it stays with me even now, even as this tiny day passes into its autumn, the memory of our little ménage; the night, the moon and I and how we met like strangers and lovers.

5 Comments

Filed under life

5 responses to “Tryst

  1. “…darkness seemed to be hesitating before slipping off its cloak and scuttling towards the horizon.”
    Nice 🙂

  2. Kym

    That was simply beautiful.

  3. I could still feel their breath though……

    lovely.

  4. Being up before the day is quite ready is one of life’s great pleasures, I reckon. And I really enjoyed the description of it.

  5. beautiful vignette! have a fun time for vacances….

Leave a Reply

